Our Auckland map has 9 slides with Regional Council, ward, local community boards, and subdivision of electoral boundaries.

  1. New Zealand Regional Council Auckland Region Location
  2. Framed Auckland Region map with Outline
  3. New Zealand Auckland Region/Regional Council/District Outline
  4. Blank Auckland Region Map with 13 Wards
  5. Labeled Auckland Region Map with 13 Ward Names
  6. Blank Auckland Region Map with 21 Local Board Areas
  7. Labeled Auckland Region Map with 21 Local Board Area Names
  8. Blank Auckland Region Map with 19 Subdivisions
  9. Labeled Auckland Region Map with 19 Subdivision Names

The Auckland Region is located in the North Island of New Zealand, specifically at coordinates 36′ 51” South and 174′ 47” East. It is a part of the Greater Auckland area which lies on and around an isthmus, less than 1.2 miles (2 km) wide at its narrowest point. The region includes the Auckland metropolitan area, outlying rural areas, and the islands of the Hauraki Gulf. As for its neighboring regions, to the north, it borders the Northland Region, and to the south, it borders the Waikato and Hauraki Gulf.

In New Zealand, the representation arrangements such as wards, local community boards, and subdivisions of electoral boundaries play a significant role in local government and decision-making. Wards are electoral divisions from which councilors are chosen. In the Auckland region, there are 13 wards from which 20 councilors are elected to make regional decisions along with the mayor.

Auckland’s 13 wards of our Auckland Map are as following, Albany Ward, Albert-Eden-Puketāpapa Ward, Franklin Ward, Howick Ward, Manukau Ward, Manurewa-Papakura Ward, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward, North Shore Ward, Ōrākei Ward, Rodney Ward, Waitākere Ward, Waitematā and Gulf Ward, and Whau Ward.

Local community boards, on the other hand, are smaller units within a ward. In Auckland, there are 21 local boards, each electing between five and nine members. These boards are responsible for local decision-making and provide input into regional matters.

The 21 local community boards of our Auckland Map are as followed, Albert-Eden, Aotea/Great Barrier, Devonport-Takapuna, Franklin, Henderson-Massey, Hibiscus and Bays, Howick, Kaipātiki, Māngere-Ōtāhuhu, Manurewa, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki, Ōrākei, Ōtara-Papatoetoe, Papakura, Puketāpapa, Rodney, Upper Harbour, Waiheke, Waitākere Ranges, Waitematā, and Whau.

Electoral boundaries, or subdivisions, are determined based on population. These boundaries, which apply to both wards and local boards, are reviewed every six years to ensure fair representation. In certain cases, exceptions are made for communities with either low or high populations sharing a common community aspect.

The 19 subdivisions of Auckland Region in our Auckland Map are Area Outside, Botany, Dairy Flat, East Coast Bays, Hibiscus Coast, Howick, Kumeū, Maungakiekie, Maungawhau, Ōtara, Ōwairaka, Pakuranga, Papatoetoe, Pukekohe, Tāmaki, Wairoa, Waiuku, Warkworth, and Wellsford.

It’s important to note that individuals can only vote for local board candidates and ward councilors in the area where they are registered to vote.

Our Auckland Map product features make it easier for you to customize.

  • The maps are extracted from the latest official GIS data.
  • Regional Council, ward, local community boards, and subdivision shapes are grouped respectively.
  • The text is grouped as one layer.